Past Winners

Past winners of the Cowichan Consort Concerto Competition



Concerto Title

1994 Jennifer Harvey, piano Schumann A minor Concerto
1995 Chloe Kohut, violin Mendelssohn E minor Concerto
1996 Kit Murphy, tuba Vaughan Williams Tuba Concerto
1997 Kate Declerck, violin Mozart G Major Concerto
1998 Jennifer Cluff and Jennifer Moss Doppler Concerto for Two Flutes
1999 Jonathan Eng, marimba Ney Rosauro Concerto for marimba and string orchestra
2000 Robin Streb, viola Carl Stamitz Concerto for Viola & Orchestra
2001 Devon Cooper, piano Mozart Concerto No. 23 in A Major
2002 Zoltan Virag, flute Andre Getry Concerto for Flute,
Strings and Horns
2003 Nathan O’Neill, trombone Lars-Erik Larsson Concerto for Trombone
2004 Charlene DeVries, flute Carl Reinecke Concerto for Flute
2005 Edward Chang, violin Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
2006 Michael Green, viola F. A. Hoffmeister Concerto for Viola
2007 Jacinta Green, cello Romberg Concertino for cello and orchestra
2008 Emma Nielsen, violin Max Bruch Concerto for violin in G minor
2009 Michael Oh, flute Telemann Suite in A minor
2010 Matthew Stubbs, piano Poulenc Piano Concerto
2011 Michael Oh, Emily Friedrich, Kori Meerman, Madison Gray, Catherine Felton, Esther Wilke, Ben Hillier, Samuel Lowe, Anna Williams, piano Mozart Concerto #12 K414
2012 Nathan Bomans,violin Saint Saens Introduction and Rondo Capriccoso
2013 Nio & Mirin Hirano, piano Haydn Concerto in D major
2014 Carter Johnson, piano Schumann A minor Concerto
2015 no winner  
2016 no winner  
2017 Felipe Jiang, piano, Jr winner
Gillian Newburn, flute, Sr winner tied with
Thomas Bauer, flute, Sr winner
Mozart # 8 K246
Doppler Concerto for 2 flutes
2018 Elijah Kim, violin Vivaldi Concerto in E – ‘Spring’
2019 Senior: Anna Betuzzi
Interm: Evan Overman
Junior: Anjulie Djearam
Mozart -Oboe Concerto
Haydn -Trumpet Concerto
Mozart -voice: Laudate Dominum